Uttar Pradesh is yet again abuzz with name-change talk. This time the proposal is to rechristen Aligarh as Harigarh, Mainpuri as Mayan Nagar and  Firozabad as Chandra Nagar. While the last two had been proposed earlier, the move to rename the city of famous Aligarh Muslim University was made on Monday.

Also read: Adityanath calls Mulayam 'abba jaan', SP protests

A resolution for changing the name was unanimously passed at a meeting of the newly-elected district Panchayat on Monday. District panchayat chairman Vijay Singh told reporters on Tuesday that the resolution to rename Aligarh as Harigarh was forwarded to the state government for further action.

A proposal was also passed to name the airport of Aligarh after BJP leader Kalyan Singh, informing the Zila panchayat chairman. Kalyan Singh, former UP CM and ex-Governor of Rajasthan hailed from Aligarh. The final decision for renaming a place is taken by the state government.

Explained: What is India’s emergency e-visa facility for Afghans

Earlier, the zila panchayat of Mainpuri and Firozabad had sought the renaming of their respective cities. Mainpuri (Mayan Nagar) is proposed to be named after sage Mayan who founded the present-day Mainpuri.

“One of the Zila panchayat members had moved the proposal for renaming Mainpuri as Mayan Nagar and the proposal was passed with 23 members supporting the motion and two opposing it,” said Archana Bhadoria, Zila panchayat chairperson of Mainpuri.

Also read: UP Law Commission submits draft population control bill

Earlier this month, the Firozabad district panchayat had sought that Firozabad be renamed as Chandra Nagar. King Chandrasen lived in Firozabad and the city was earlier known as Chandravar Nagar till about 1560 AD.

It is said that the city was renamed Firozabad after an emissary of Akbar, Firoz Shah, visited the area.

There is also a proposal to rename Jhansi Railway Station as Veerangana Laxmibai Railway Station. The Uttar Pradesh government has sent a proposal for this to the Centre.

Also read: Johnny Boufarhat has an allergy to thank for his $3 billion empire

Renaming cities, important junctions and railway stations has been a norm in Uttar Pradesh eversince the BJP government, led by Yogi Adityanath took charge in 2017. Earlier, Allahabad and Faizabad were renamed as Prayagraj and Ayodhya.

Soo after that the Mughalsarai railway station was renamed as Pandit Deendayal Upadhyay Railway Station. Pandit Deendayal Upadhyay had died under mysterious circumstances near Mughalsarai railway station in 1968.