The International Olympic Committee (IOC) on Wednesday confirmed the Australian city of Brisbane as the host for the 2032 edition of the Games. The vote, which took place in Tokyo, makes Australia a three-time Olympics host, with Melbourne and Sydney having hosted the Games in 1956 and 2000 respectively. 

"The International Olympic Committee has the honour to announce that the Games of the 35th Olympiad are awarded to Brisbane, Australia," AFP quoted IOC President Thomas Bach saying following the vote. 

The announcement sparked celebrations among the Australia delegation at the vote, with fireworks being set off in Brisbane where fans gathered ahead of the vote. 

Brisbane's victory looked a certainty after it was unanimously proposed as the single candidate for 2032 by the IOC's 15-strong executive board in June.

Also Read | India's hockey heroes inspire Olympic dream, says goalkeeper PR Sreejesh

The decision means the IOC has now secured hosts for the next three Summer Olympics, with Paris holding the event in 2024 and Los Angeles holding the 2028 Games.

"We know what it takes to deliver a successful Games," said Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison by live link from Canberra before the vote.

Australia has already hosted the Olympics twice, in Melbourne in 1956 and Sydney in 2000, widely considered one of the most successful Games in recent history.