Charter’s Spectrum TV has lost access to 26 Disney channels, including ESPN and ABC-owned local channels in certain markets. The development occurred as a result of a dispute between Charter and Disney over carriage terms. 

The blackout happened on the cable operator’s network and was announced on its website. This blackout is especially significant as it occurred just two days before the first full weekend of college football.

This blackout took place as ESPN’s networks were airing significant events like the U.S. Open tennis tournament (which featured a match starring Spanish star Carlos Alcaraz) and a college football game between Utah and the University of Florida.

Also read | Why are ESPN, Disney Networks and ABC Stations facing network blackouts on Spectrum?

Charter Spectrum in a statement said, “The Walt Disney Company has removed their programming from Spectrum which creates hardship for our customers. We offered Disney a fair deal, yet they are demanding an excessive increase. They also want to limit our ability to provide greater customer choice in programming packages forcing you to take and pay for channels you may not want. Spectrum is on your side and fighting to keep costs down while protecting and maximizing customer choice.”

Disney in retort made a significant move and said, “Spectrum TV subscribers no longer have access to our unrivaled portfolio of live sporting events and news coverage plus kids, family and general entertainment programming.”

Also read | Who is Christopher Lee Pray? Suspect escapes custody and eludes police in chase in Oregon, while fully restrained in shackles

The following channels have been removed due to the dispute between Disney and Spectrum:

  • ESPN
  • ESPN2
  • ESPN Deportes
  • ESPN News
  • SEC Network
  • ACC Network
  • Longhorn Network
  • FX
  • FX Movie Channel
  • FXX
  • Freeform
  • National Geographic
  • Nat Geo Wild
  • Nat Geo Mundo
  • Disney Channel
  • Disney Junior
  • Disney XD
  • BabyTV

Also read | Who was Trenten Montero? Winnemucca cowboy dies of injuries at Owyhee County Rodeo

Additionally, the ABC-owned stations in Spectrum TV markets have also been taken off the air:

  • ABC7 Chicago
  • ABC7 Los Angeles
  • ABC7 New York
  • ABC7 San Francisco
  • ABC11 Raleigh-Durham
  • ABC13 Houston
  • ABC30 Fresno