Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Baburam Paswan has won from Puranpur assembly constituency defeating his nearest contender Ms Aarti of the Samajwadi Party (SP) by 26,576 votes.

Puranpur assembly constituency, which comes under the Pilibhit district of Uttar Pradesh, went to the polls on February 23, 2022, and the results will be declared on March 10. Ishwar Dayal Paswan of the Congress (INC), Baburam Paswan of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Ms Aarti of the Samajwadi Party (SP), and Ashok Kumar Raja of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) are contesting this time. 

Also Read | Yogi beats anti-incumbency. Only person to do so in Uttar Pradesh in 3 decades

In 2017, Eight candidates contested for the seat, with Babu Ram Paswan of BJP winning by defeating Peetam Ram from SP with a margin of 39,242 votes. While Paswan got a total of 1,28,493 votes, Ram got 89,251 votes. Bahujan Samaj Party’s candidate Er.K.K. Arvind got 20,139 votes to finish in third place. 

Also read: BJP set to retain Manipur, predict exit polls

In 2017, the seat had a total of 3,69,514 registered voters. Of these, 1,99,810 were male and 1,69,704 were female voters. 0.6% of votes were cast for NOTA.

Meanwhile, in the 2012 elections, Samajwadi Party’s Peetam Ram defeated Bharatiya Janta Party‘s Babu Ram by a margin of 30,838 votes.

Also Read: Family reunion: Akhilesh, Mulayam, Shivpal campaign for UP polls together after 5 years

Quick facts about the Puranpur assembly seat:

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Puranpur, Pilibhit

Polling date: February 23, 2022

Phase: 4

Sitting MLA, party: Babu Ram Paswan, BJP

Key candidates, party in 2022: Ishwar Dayal Paswan (INC), Baburam Paswan (BJP), Ms Aarti (SP), Ashok Kumar Raja (BSP)

Winning candidate, party in 2017: Babu Ram Paswan, BJP

Runner-up name, party 2017: Peetam Ram, SP

Winning margin 2017: 39,242 votes

Top 3 candidates in 2017: Babu Ram Paswan (BSP), Peetam Ram, SP (SP), ER.K.K. Arvind (BSP)

Lok Sabha constituency: Pilibhit