From not being able to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup to becoming one of the most exciting teams in European football, the young Italy squad under former Manchester City boss Roberto Mancini has come a long way. Unbeaten in 26 matches, a run that stretches back to late 2018, the Azzurri are a team to watch for in the Euro 2020 that kicks off on Friday.

Mancini's expansive passing style of play is radically different from what we traditionally see from Italy, a more conservative and defensive style. Mancini will aim for a long campaign deep into the tournament. Pride is on the line for  the wounded football giant. 

The Italian squad for Euro 2020 is oozing with young talent such as Goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma, midfielder Nicolo Barrella and forward Federico Chiesa. 

Barrella, who helped propel Inter Milan to their first Serie A title since 2010, will be tasked to repeat the feat in national colours, with the Azzurri searching for their first trophy since winning the 2006 FIFA World Cup. 

23-year-old Chiesa will hope to leave a disappointing result with Juventus behind to come full throttle in the tournament and with Marco Verratti most probably missing out the group stage, the onus will be on him and Laziostriker Ciro Immobile to provide a goal threat in the final third.

Italy start their campaign for the Euro 2020 against Turkey in Group A on June 11. They then go on to play Switzerland on June 16 and will play their final game of the group against Waleson June 20.

Italy full squad

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan), Alex Meret (Napoli), Salvatore Sirigu (Torino)

Defenders: Francesco Acerbi (Lazio), Alessandro Bastoni (Inter Milan), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), Emerson Palmieri (Chelsea), Alessandro Florenzi (PSG), Leonardo Spinazzola (Roma), Rafael Toloi (Atalanta)

Midfielders: Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan), Bryan Cristante (AS Roma), Jorginho (Chelsea), Manuel Locatelli (Sassuolo), Lorenzo Pellegrini (AS Roma), Matteo Pessina (Atalanta), Marco Verratti (PSG)

Forwards: Andrea Belotti (Torino),Federico Bernardeschi (Juventus), Federico Chiesa (Juventus), Ciro Immobile (Lazio), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Giacomo Raspadori (Sassuolo), Domenico Berardi (Sassuolo)