Congratulation messages poured in for para shooter Avani Lekhara, discus thrower Yogesh Kathuniya, Javelin legend Devendra Jhajharia and Sundar S Gurjar for winning gold, silver and bronze medal, respectively, at Tokyo Paralympics on Monday.

Avani Lekhara created history by becoming the first Indian woman to win a gold at the Paralympics.

Taking to Twitter, Prime Minister Narendra Modi wrote, "Phenomenal performance @AvaniLekhara! Congratulations on winning a hard-earned and well-deserved Gold, made possible due to your industrious nature and passion towards shooting. This is truly a special moment for Indian sports. Best wishes for your future endeavours."

The PM also congratulated Kathuniya and wrote, "Outstanding performance by Yogesh Kathuniya. Delighted that he brings home the Silver medal. His exemplary success will motivate budding athletes. Congrats to him. Wishing him the very best for his future endeavours."

Also Read| Devendra Jhajharia, India's most decorated Paralympian

He thanked Jhajharia and Gurjar for making India proud.

19-year-old Lekhara is the fourth Indian athlete to win a Paralympics gold after swimmer Murlikant Petkar (1972), javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia (2004 and 2016) and high jumper Thangavelu Mariyappan (2016).

President Ramnath Kovind congratulated Lekhara for "creating history". He tweeted, "Delighted to see our Paralympians bring more glory to the nation! Yogesh Kathuniya wins silver in discus throw, Devendra Jhajharia and Sundar Singh Gurjar bags silver and bronze respectively in javelin throw. Congratulations! Every Indian is celebrating your success.

Sports Authority of India (SAI) and Tokyo 2020 for India handles on Twitter also posted wishes for all the four medallists.

Sports Minister Anurag Thakur called it a "historic achievement".

Bollywood celebrities and sports fraternity also congratulated the winners.

On Sunday, Indian table tennis player Bhavina Patel made history be clinching a historic silver medal on her Paralympic Games debut in Tokyo. Patel is the first table tennis player ever to win a medal at the Paralympics for India. Nishad Kumar also won a silver in high jump, followed by a bronze by Vinod Kumar in discus throw.

So, far India has won one gold, four silver and two bronze at the Paralympics.