Day 1 of the third Test match was India's to forget. Nothing went Virat Kohli's way except for the toss. The batting order crumbled to 78 runs, India's third-lowest in England and then Haseeb Hameed (60 not out) Rory Burns (52 not out) only piled on their misery. England start Day 2 at 120/0, leading India by 42 runs. 

Also read: India vs England: After corks at KL Rahul, ball thrown at Mohammed Siraj

Can the pacers save the match for India? Can the visitors still bounce back? The answers to both the question is affirmative. In the second Test at Lord's, inspired by the tail enders, namely Bumrah and Shami, and the lethal pace attack, Kohli and company did manage to end up winning after they were put in immense pressure. 

For England, a solid performance on Day 2 could put them in a position to win the Test and come back in the series. It is James Anderson's fiery spell that has put the hosts in the driving seat. With the ball moving all over the place, the 39-year-old simply played with India's big guns at the top. He also dismissed skipper Virat Kohli. 

Anderson finished with 3/6, Craig Overton came back with 3/14 as Ollie Robinson (2/16) and Sam Curran (2/21) took two each. Opener Rohit Sharma (19) and Ajinkya Rahane (18) were the only Indian batsmen to reach double digit scores.

Also read: 'Need to learn from mistakes': Team India after disastrous day 1 in 3rd Test

India had taken a 1-0 lead in the five-match series after winning the second Test by 151 runs at Lord's.

Brief Scores: India 1st innings: 78 allout in 40.4 overs (Rohit Sharma 19, Ajinkya Rahane 18; James Anderson 3/6, Craig Overton 3/14).

England 1st innings: 120 for no loss in 42 overs (Haseeb Hameed 60 not out, Rory Burns 52 not out).

Also read: Joe Root's decision bring in Mark Wood was a mistake: James Anderson

Playing XI:

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

England: Rory Burns, Haseeb Hameed, Dawid Malan, Joe Root (c), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Craig Overton, Ollie Robinson, James Anderson