Inside edge? Virat Kohli's dismissal raises eyebrows
- Virat Kohli recorded his 10th duck as India Test captain
- Mayank Agarwal scored a haf-century for India
- India and New Zealand are playing the second Test match in Mumbai
Virat Kohli seemed baffled after he reached the dressing room, dismissed for a duck on the first day of the second Test match between India and New Zealand in Mumbai. The skipper was given out LBW by the third umpire when no conclusive evidence, of an inside edge, could be drawn to push the decision in Kohli's favour.
Here is what happened:
New Zealand's Ajaz Patel had dismissed Cheteshwar Pujara on the second ball of the over.
Facing his fourth ball, Kohli was struck on the front pad. He was adjudged LBW and the Indian captain challenged the decision. 'Was there an inside edge?' was the question. A spike could be detected on UltraEdge when the ball is close to the bat. However, the third umpire could not conclude if the ball hit the bat first or the pad.
"Ball and bat and pad appears to be together. I don't have any conclusive evidence to overturn that," said the third umpire Virender Sharma, asking umpire Anil Chaudhary to stick with the original call. The ball-tracking showed three reds and the on-field call stayed.
After having a word with Nitin Menon, Kohli headed back to the dressing room. Kohli was seen discussing the decision with coach Rahul Dravid.
Former New Zealand cricketer Simon Doull explained the reason why Virat Kohli was adjudged LBW.
"The TV umpire has to find conclusive evidence to overturn the decision of the on-field umpire. There was no conclusive evidence that the ball hit the pad first. So, I think the process was followed. The process was right," Doull said while commentating the game on Star Sports.
The duck was Virat Kohli's 10th as a captain and fourth this year. Ajaz Patel also dismissed Cheteshwar Pujara for a duck, leaving India at 80/3.
India got off to a solid start, 80-run opening stand, in the first sessions before wickets fell in quick succession. Kohli won the toss and opted to bat after the match started more than two hours later than the scheduled time due to a wet outfield.