The Aam Aadmi Party on Friday announced its eighth list of candidates for the upcoming elections in Punjab that is slated to be held in February or March this year. With this, the AAP has announced the names of 104 candidates so far.

On Monday, the party had released its seventh list of candidates.

Also read: Arvind Kejriwal’s health history: Delhi CM tests positive for COVID-19

“Our seventh list of candidates for the upcoming 2022 Punjab assembly elections,” AAP’s Raghav Chadha posted a tweet while sharing the seventh list.

According to the recent list, AAP has named Raman Arora to contest from Jalandhar Central, Fauza Singh Sarari to contest from Guru har Sahai and Deep Kamboj to contest from Abohar.

Also read: Security breach: President Kovind expresses concern, to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Meanwhile, Sukhjinder Raj Singh Lalli Majithia will contest the polls from Majithia – an Akali Dal bastion. Majithia – who has lost the last three assembly elections against Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader Bikram Singh Majithia – had recently left Congress and joined the AAP amid differences with the state party leadership.

The AAP had also announced that Dr Ajay Gupta will contest the polls from Amritsar Central. On the other hand, Dr Kashmir Singh Sohal, Surinder Singh Sodhi and Dr Baljit Kaur will fight from Tarn Taran, Jalandhar Cantt and Malout respectively.

Also read: Protestors in Punjab block Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s convoy in major security lapse

The 117-member legislative assembly in Punjab will go to polls in February or March this year.

Also read: PM Modi to inaugurate projects worth Rs 42,750 crore in poll-bound Punjab today

In the 2017 Punjab assembly elections, the Congress had won an absolute majority of 77 seats and ousted the SAD-BJP government after 10 years. The Aam Aadmi Party had emerged as the second-largest party, winning 20 seats in the 117-member Punjab assembly. The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) could only manage to win 15 seats, while the BJP secured three seats.