Fans of Lata Mangeshkar are unhappy after the legendary Indian singer was not included in the ‘In Memoriam’ section of the
64th Annual Grammy Awards on Sunday.

Also Read: Grammy Awards 2022: Indian origin Ricky Kej bags second golden gramophone

The absence of the legendary Indian
playback singer from the 2022 Grammys ceremony, held on early Monday morning in
Las Vegas, comes a week after the Academy Awards omitted Mangeshkar from its
homage segment as well.

Mangeshkar died on January 6 due to multiple organ failures. She was 92.

Also Read: From Ricky Rej to AR Rahman: List of Indians who won Grammy Awards

The fans took to Twitter to criticise the
Recording Academy, the institution that conducts Hollywood’s biggest musical
awards night, for omitting Mangeshkar’s name.

Calling out the Grammys for honouring only
American music, a user said the event felt “futile and

Also Read: Grammy Awards 2022: Jon Batiste wins album of the year for ‘We Are’

While the show reportedly began with a list
of hundreds of names to possibly include, the length of the segment required
them to pare down the final list of those to be included.

A much more comprehensive list is featured
on the GRAMMYs website, which also does not mention Mangeshkar or Lahiri.

Also Read: ‘Drinks on Silk Sonic tonight’: Duo says after winning Grammy award

Last week, the Academy of Motion Picture
Arts and Sciences, which organises the Academy Awards, had also left out cinema
icon Dilip Kumar from its ‘In Memoriam’ list.

However, at its 2022 edition, the British
Academy of Film and Television Awards (BAFTA) featured Mangeshkar in the ‘In
Memoriam’ segment and described the music icon as “an Indian playback
singer, who recorded an estimated 25,000 songs for more than 1,000 Hindi films
over a career spanning 70 years”.

Also Read: Grammy Awards 2022: Celebrity couples who stole the red carpet show

During her over seven decades old career, Lata Mangeshkar won several awards, including the Padma Bhushan and Dadasaheb Phalke Award. She also received the Officer of the National Order of the Legion of Honour from the French government.