The Sikta Vidhan Sabha constituency is
held by Janata Dal (United) leader Khurshid Urf Firoj Ahmad, who defeated the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Dilip
Varma by a margin of 2,835 votes to prevail in the 2015 assembly elections.

Varma had won the seat in the 1991
by-polls as an independent candidate and repeated the feat for Champaran Vikas
Party, BJP and the Samajwadi Party in the 1995, 2000 and the February, 2005
assembly elections. He won again as an independent candidate in 2010 after
Ahmad won the October 2005 elections for the Congress.

As per orders of Delimitation of
Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies Order, 2008, Sikta Vidhan Sabha
constituency is composed of the following: Mainatanr and Sikta community
development block and parts of Narkatiaganj community development block.

Sikta Vidhan Sabha constituency is part of
Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha constituency.

Here are a few
details about the  constituency seat:

Name of the assembly constituency,
Sikta, Paschim Champaran

Lok Sabha constituency: Valmiki

Polling date: November 7

Top candidates in 2015: Khurshid
Urf Firoj Ahmad (JD(U)), Dilip Varma (BJP), Bipendra Prasad Gupta (CPI(ML)(L))

2020 candidates: Virendra Prasad Gupta (CPI(ML)(L)), Khurshid Urf Firoj Ahmad (JD(U))

Sitting MLA, party: Khurshid
Urf Firoj Ahmad (JD(U))

Winning margin in 2015: 2,835
(1.77% of total valid votes)

Runner up name, party: Dilip
Varma (BJP)

Number of voters in 2015: 1,60,817

Voter turnout in 2015: 66%

Number of women voters in 2015: 81,512

Number of polling stations in 2015: 236