Counting of votes for 56 seats in 11 states, where by-elections were held, started at 8am on Tuesday, along with the 243 seats in Bihar’s Legislative Assembly.

Out of the 56 seats, polling in 54 was held on November 3, while that for two seats in Manipur was held on November 7.

The states where by-elections were held were Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Manipur, Gujarat, Karnataka, Odisha, Jharkhand, Nagaland, Telangana, and Haryana.

Madhya Pradesh

Out of the 56 seats, 28 are in Madhya Pradesh. so far results at the Election Commission of India (ECI) show the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 18 seats and is leading at another one.  Congress has managed to win nine seats in all.

28 of the 25 seats where polling was held had fell vacant following the resignations en masse of Congress MLAs.


Polling was held for eight Assembly seats of Gujarat. BJP pulled a clean sweep in the state winning all eight seats. 

They had fallen vacant in June after Congress MLAs resigned ahead of Rajya Sabha polls. Five of them had joined the BJP.

Uttar Pradesh

Out of the seven Assembly seats where bypolls were held, BJP won six leaving one for the  Samajwadi Party.


Polling was held for two Assembly seats: Sira and RR Nagar. 

BJP has won both the seats.

Bypoll in the Sirsa seat was necessitated due to the death of sitting  Janata Dal (Secular) MLA B Satyaranarayana, while the RR Nagar seat fell vacant as Congress MLA Munirathna Naidu defected to BJP.


Polling was held for two seats: Tirtol and Balasore. Biju Janata Dal (BJD) won both the seats as per the results delcared by the EC.

Tirtol Assembly seat fell vacant due to the death of Biju Janata Dal’s (BJD) Bishnu Charan Das, while bypoll was necessitated in Balasore due to the death of BJP MLA Madan Mohan Dutta.


Polling was held for two seats: Dumka and Bermo. Results were declared on Tuesday with Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and Congress winning one seat each. 

The Dumka seat fell vacant as CM Hemant Soren retained the Barhait seat, giving up Dumka. The Bermo seat fell vacant due to the death of Congress MLA Rajendra Prasad Singh.


By-elections were held for two seats in the north-eastern state — Southern Angami-I and Pungro-Kiphire, that fell vacant due to the death of the then Assembly speaker Vikho-o Yhoshu and T Torechu of the Naga People’s Front, respectively.

Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party candidate Medo Yhokha won the Southern Angami-I. The other seat went to Independent candidate T Yangseo Sangtam in Pungro-Kiphire.


Polling was held for one Assembly seat — Dubbaka, which fell vacant due to the death of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) MLA Solipeta Ramalinga Reddy.

BJP won the seat.


The Baroda seat fell vacant due to the death of Congress MLA Sri Krishan Hooda. Election Commission declared Congress winner from the seat. 


Bypoll was held for Marwahi seat. Congress candidate Dr KK Dhruw won by over 38,000 votes defeating BJP’s Dr Gambheer Singh.


Polling was held for five seats. While BJP has won the Singhat, Wangoi, Wangjing Tentha and Saitu seats. Independent candidate Y Antas Khan won at Lilong seat.