In the Bettiah Vidhan Sabha constituency, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Renu Devi won the election by a margin of 18,079.

Devi defeated Congress’ Madan Mohan Tiwari, Bettiah’s sitting MLA, to prevail in the 2020 assembly elections.

In 2015, Tiwari had, however, bettered Devi by a margin of
2,320 votes.

The seat has been a traditional Congress
stronghold, with their candidates occupying the seat uninterrupted from 1951 to
1990, when the BJP’s Madan Prasad Jaiswal was elected. 

Since then, the BJP has dominated the
constituency with Renu Devi having occupied the seat since 2000.

As per orders of Delimitation of
Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies Order, 2008, Bettiah Vidhan Sabha
constituency is composed of the Bettiah community development block and parts
of the Majhaulia community development block. 

Bettiah is part of the Paschim Champaran
Lok Sabha constituency and was earlier a part of the Bettiah Lok Sabha

It is one of the 36 constituencies across
the state to have VVPAT enabled electronic voting.

Here are a few
details about the  constituency seat:

Name of the assembly constituency,
Bettiah, Paschim Champaran

Lok Sabha constituency: Paschim

Polling date: November 3

2020 Winner: Renu Devi (BJP)

2020 Runner up: Madan Mohan Tiwari (Congress)

Winning margin in 2020: 18,079

2020 candidates: Renu Devi (BJP), Madan Mohan Tiwari (Congress)

Sitting MLA, party: Madan
Mohan Tiwari (Congress)

Top candidates in 2015: Madan Mohan Tiwari (Congress), Renu Devi (BJP), Sameer Hasan (Independent)  

Winning margin in 2015: 2,320
(1.57% of total valid votes)

Runner up 2015: Renu Devi

Number of voters in 2015: 1,47,836

Voter turnout in 2015: 59%

Number of women voters in 2015: 70,869

Number of polling stations in 2015: 231