Even though the Delta variant is driving infections across Europe, USA and
China, the rising rates of vaccination around the world is giving countries
confidence to ease travel curbs, subject to certain conditions.

In good news for Indian travellers, several countries which had barred
travel from India have now relaxed the curbs. While the UK has moved India from
the red list to the amber list, UAE and Spain have also allowed travellers from
India to enter their jurisdictions.

UK’s system

The United Kingdom employs a colour-coded traffic light system with
countries in three categories — red, amber and green. The categorisation is
done on the basis of “the risk posed by individual countries and territories”.

The red list includes countries that the UK has explicitly asked citizens
to not visit. Only British and Irish nationals or those with residence rights
in UK could enter the country from countries in the red list.

Upon arrival, travellers were required to quarantine for 10 days and
undergo two COVID-19 tests.

India, until recently, was on the red list. Now, India has been moved to
the amber list
. As a result, fully vaccinated travellers from India will no
longer have to quarantine in the UK upon arrival.

UAE’s relaxations

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) will lift the ban on entry of passengers
from India and five other countries from August 5 onwards. The relaxation will
be valid only for passengers who have valid residency visa and are fully
vaccinated with the final dose taken at least 14 days prior to departure.

Moreover, UAE has also lifted restrictions on flyers transiting to other
destinations. Although with new standard operating procedures coming into
effect, the new rules may take time to implement.

Spain’s travel curbs

Spain has added India to the list of countries from where tourists will be
allowed given that they have been fully vaccinated at least 14 days prior to travel.
Spanish authorities have said that only those travellers will be allowed who
have been inoculated with a vaccine either approved by the WHO or the European Medicines