Droupadi Murmu has been elected India’s 15th President. The 64-year-old is the first tribal to be elected the commander-in-chief and the second woman after Pratibha Patil. 

Also Read: Opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha congratulates President Droupadi Murmu

Here are some of the congratulatory tweets sent out by politicians:

PM Narendra Modi congratulated Droupadi Murmu on winning the presidential election and declared that India has scripted history by producing the first citizen of the nation, a daughter of India from a tribal community born in a remote area of the nation.

The election of Droupadi Murmu, according to Union Home Minister Amit Shah, is a significant step in realising Antyodaya’s resolve and empowering tribal community.

The opposition backed candidate Yashwant Sinha also congratulated Murmu on her victory.

Also Read: Droupadi Murmu is India’s first tribal president, beats Yashwant Sinha

Murmu’s candidacy had the support of parties from all sides of the political spectrum and was the overwhelming favourite to win. She was supported by non-NDA parties as well, including the Shiv Sena of Uddhav Thackeray, the Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP) of OP Rajbhar, the Janata Dal-Secular (JDS) of HD Deve Gowda, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) of Shibu Soren, and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) of Chandrababu

Also Read: Droupadi Murmu: Age, net worth, husband, children, qualification, awards and more

Murmu also sent out a tweet thanking all her colleagues for choosing her as the 15th President of India. She also promised to fulfill her promise “to work for more development of her tribal and Adivasi brothers and sisters of Whole India & Odisha”.

She further added in her Twitter thread,” I bow head towards Mahaprabhu Shree Jagannath for the blessings and everything i achieved till date, I thank my every Citizen of mother India and to all of You, I cannot express my feeling right now!”