The counting of votes in poll-bound states including Uttar Pradesh, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand, and Goa began on Thursday morning at 8 am.

In the populous state of Uttar Pradesh, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has surpassed the majority mark. According to the trends, the BJP is leading in 257 seats and the Samajwadi Party in 121 seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party is leading in 9 seats while the Congress is leading in 8 seats.  

In the coastal state of Goa, Congress leads in 12 seats. The TMC and AAP are ahead in five and one constituencies respectively as of 10:50 AM on Thursday.   

In Uttarakhand, the BJP is leading in 44 seats as of 10:10 AM on Thursday.

In Punjab, the AAP is leading on 88 seats and the Congress on 13 seats as of 10:30 am.   

With counting underway, initial tends suggested the BJP leading in majority of the 403 seats in Uttar Pradesh. Responding to this, the Samajwadi Party’s media cell shared a statement on Twitter.

“These trends are not authentic, a perception is being made that BJP is winning, so that the morale of the workers can be broken and results manipulated dishonestly after 3 PM. It is an appeal to the workers to stay put at the spot till the last results!” the Samajwadi Party’s media cell wrote in Hindi.

While some election enthusiasts have been glued to their television screens, others have taken the meme route to react to the interesting developments, taking subtle digs at political parties every once in a while.

Several internet users shared election-related memes on Twitter.