The Kinnaur Assembly
Constituency has Surat Negi of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Jagat Singh
Negi from the Indian National Congress (INC), Tersem Singh of the Aam Aadmi
Party (AAP) in a three-way contest for this year’s Himachal Pradesh Assembly Elections. 

Political analysts predict that the state’s first election since the Covid-19 pandemic will centre on anti-incumbency, inflation, and unemployment. Since 1985, Himachal Pradesh has been alternately governed by Congress and BJP governments.

The BJP had won 44 of
Himachal’s 68 assembly constituencies last time and the Congress had won 21.
The CPM had won one seat. A party needs to win 35 seats for a majority to form
the government in the state.

Also Read | Who will be Himachal’s next chief minister?

In 2017, Jagat Singh Negi of
the Congress defeated Tejwant Singh Negi of the BJP by 120 votes. Jeevan
Singh of the CPM, Rajeev Kumar Negi of the Rashtravadi Pratap Sena (RHSP) and
Kailash Chand of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) also contested the elections in

Kinnaur is one of the 68
assembly constituencies in Himachal Pradesh. Kinnaur falls under the Kinnaur district and Mandi Lok Sabha
Constituency. Kinnaur has more than 58,000 eligible voters. This constituency is reserved
for Scheduled Tribe candidates. 

In 2012, Jagat Singh Negi of
the Congress defeated Tejwant Singh Negi of the BJP by 6,288 votes. Chet Ram Negi of the Himachal Lokhit Party (HLP), Kailash Chand of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Sunder Dev Negi of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) also contested the HP Assembly Elections in 2012. 

Himachal Pradesh votes in a
single round on November 12. Results will be announced on December 8.

Quick facts about the Kinnaur
Assembly seat  

Name of the assembly
constituency, district: Kinnaur, Kinnaur district

Also Read | 5 key battlegrounds in Himachal this poll season

Polling date: November 12, 2022

Sitting MLA, party: Jagat Singh
Negi, INC

Key candidates, party in 2022:
Tersem Singh (AAP), Surat Negi (BJP), Jagat Singh Negi (INC)

Winning candidate, party in
2017: Jagat Singh Negi, INC

Runner-up name, party
2017:  Tejwant Singh Negi, BJP

Winning margin in 2017: 120

Top 3 candidates 2017: Jagat Singh Negi (INC), Tejwant Singh Negi (BJP), Jeevan Singh (CPM)

Top 3 candidates 2012: 
Jagat Singh Negi (INC),  Chet Ram Negi (HLP), Tejwant Singh Negi, BJP (BJP)

Lok Sabha constituency: Mandi