Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma during a pre-season press conference on Wednesday said that he intends to play all the games in IPL 2022. The 2020 champions kick off their season against the Delhi Capitals on March 27. 

Sharma was asked if he would take a break or rotate to keep fit for the international matches ahead. The Mumbai Indians captains, who also leads India across formats, said that he does not want to miss any game and make a difference in all matches. 

Also read: IPL 2022: Coach Shane Watson hails Delhi Capitals captain Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw

“I obviously intend to play all matches and make a difference,” Sharma said. 

Workload management has become a key aspect of the game with certain players, like former India and Royal Challengers Bangalore Virat Kohli, playing all formats of the game. Sharma had missed some games during IPL 2021 due to inadequate match fitness. Mumbai veteran Kieron Pollard led the side in the regular captain’s absence. 

Also Read: Delhi Capitals camp in ‘good frame of mind’: Skipper Rishabh Pant ahead of IPL 2022

India will host South Africa for a five-match T20I series after the IPL. Rohit Sharma and company will then travel to Ireland and England for limited-overs series before participating in the T20 World Cup in Australia

In the press conference, MI coach Mahela Jayawardene and Rohit Sharma reiterated that the team is not banking on a single ‘X factor’ for the 2022 season but will look at different individuals to contriute throughout the tournament. 

Rohit Sharma lauded former Mumbai all-rounder Hardik Pandya for his contribution to the side’s title wins in the last decade. The Gujarat Titans captain’s efforts will never go unseen, the India opener said. 

Also read: Had a great time: Rashid Khan recalls 15-minute session with Shane Warne

Jayawardene, however, did not confirm if 19-year-old Tilak Verma, who represented India in the Word Cup last year, will be slotted at No 3 for the five-time IPL champions.  

MI full squad:

Rohit Sharma (c), Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Dewald Brevis, Basil Thampi, Murugan Ashwin, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, N Tilak Varma, Sanjay Yadav, Jofra Archer, Daniel Sams, Tymal Mills, Tim David, Riley Meredith, Mohd Arshad Khan, Anmolpreet Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Hrithik Shokeen, Arjun Tendulkar, Aryan Juyal, Fabian Allen