Semi-finalists Mumbai and Uttar Pradesh on Thursday stepped up to the Vijay
Hazare Trophy final, defeating Karnataka and Gujarat, respectively.

Putting up a total score of 322 in the Feroz Shah Kotla against
Karnataka based on skipper Prithvi Shaw’s fiery 165 run innings off 122 balls, Mumbai
managed to bowl their opponents out at a score of 250.

Also read: Can India and its young guns prevail over England in T20Is?

Having scored a total of 754 runs in the tournament so far, Shaw
seemingly played with ease the experienced Karnataka bowling side’s deliveries,
hitting away as he did, scoring 17 boundaries and seven sixes in his innings.

Karnataka batting too, was dealt a major blow by Mumbai off-spinner Tanush
Kotian, who picked up two wickets, aided by fellow spinner Prashant Solanki,
who too bagged a couple for himself.

Half of Karnataka’s batting order got sent back to the pavilion as Shams
Mulani took out Karun Nair, with their innings eventually coming at an end at
250 runs.

Also read: Prithvi Shaw, the 21-year-old diminutive opener punching above his height

Uttar Pradesh, on the other hand, seemingly came off a long while of
not coming close to the trophy, as after 16 years, they managed to reach the
finals by defeating Gujarat.

Bowling out Gujarat at a total score of 184 runs, Uttar Pradesh found
themselves to be in the driver’s seat.

Uttar Pradesh’s left-arm fast bowler Yash Dayal and right-hand medium
pacer Aaqib Khan’s duo finished off the Gujarat batting line-up, picking up
five wickets between themselves and propelling the bowling attack to stunt the opponent’s
innings quickly.

Also read: ‘It felt surreal that the world was watching me’: Shubman Gill on his Test debut

Coming onto the crease, Uttar Pradesh batsmen Akashdeep Nath (71),
Karan Sharma (38), and Upendra Yadav (31*) raced the team to victory.

The Vijay Hazare Trophy final is scheduled to be played on Sunday.