Polling in the single-phase election to the Puducherry Assembly began at 7 am on Tuesday. 324 candidates are in the fray for the 30-member Assembly of the union territory (UT).

78.13% voters’ turnout was recorded till 7:11 pm. 

Although the term of Puducherry Assembly was to end on June 8, it was dissolved in February after the Congress government of former chief minister V Narayanasamy was unable to prove its majority. President’s rule was imposed in the UT on February 25.

Also read: Assembly elections 2021: Voting begins in 475 seats across 5 states

Among the key candidates contesting the election is N Rangasamy of the All India NR Congress (AINRC). He is contesting from two seats — Thattanchavady and Yanam.

The party is leading the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in the UT. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), the other NDA members, are contesting from nine and five constituencies respectively.

Congress-led Secular Democratic Alliance (SDA) is another alliance contesting the elections. The Congress is contesting from 14 out of the 15 seats allotted. For Yanam Assembly seat, it’s supporting the Independent candidate Gollapalli Srinivas Ashok.

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), another SDA member, is contesting from 13 seats. 

The Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) and Communist Party of India (CPI), the other SDA members, are contesting from one seat each.

The result of the April 6 election will be announced on May 2.