The Rohru Assembly Constituency
has Shashi Bala of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Mohan Lal Brakta from the
Indian National Congress (INC), Ashwani Kumar of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in a
three-way contest for this year’s Himachal Pradesh Assembly Elections. 

Also Read | 5 key battlegrounds in Himachal this poll season

Political analysts predict that the state’s first election since the Covid-19 pandemic will centre on anti-incumbency, price rise, and unemployment. Since 1985, Himachal Pradesh has been alternately governed by Congress and BJP governments.

The BJP had won 44 of
Himachal’s 68 assembly constituencies last time and the Congress had won 21.
The CPM had won one seat. A party needs to win 35 seats for a majority to form
the government in the state.

In 2017, Mohan Lal Brakta of
the Congress defeated Shashi Bala of the BJP by 9,408 votes. Narayan Chand of
the Swabhiman Party (SWAP) and Shurvir Singh of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)
also contested the elections in 2017.

Rohru is one of the 68 assembly
constituencies in Himachal Pradesh. Rohru falls under the Shimla district and
Shimla Lok Sabha Constituency. Rohru has more than 73,000 eligible voters. This
constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates. 

In 2012, Mohan Lal Brakta of
the Congress defeated Balak Ram Negi of the BJP by 28,415 votes. Rattan Dass of the Himachal Lokhit Party (HLP), Prakash Andta of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Balwan Singh of the Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJP), and independent candidate Badri Prasad also contested the HP Assembly Elections in 2012. 

Also Read | Who will be Himachal’s next chief minister?

Himachal Pradesh votes in a
single round on November 12. Results will be announced on December 8.

Quick facts about the Rohru
Assembly seat  

Name of the assembly
constituency, district: Rohru, Shimla district

Polling date: November 12, 2022

Sitting MLA, party: Mohan Lal
Brakta (INC)

Key candidates, party in 2022:
Ashwani Kumar (AAP), Shashi Bala (BJP), Mohan Lal Brakta (INC)

Winning candidate, party in
2017: Mohan Lal Brakta (INC)

Runner-up name, party
2017:  Shashi Bala (BJP)

Winning margin in 2017: 9408

Top 3 candidates 2017: 
Mohan Lal Brakta (INC), Shashi Bala (BJP), Shurvir Singh (BSP)

Top 3 candidates 2012: 
Mohan Lal Brakta (INC), Balak Ram Negi (BJP), Rattan Dass (HLP)

Lok Sabha constituency: Shimla