The Shimla Rural Assembly
Constituency has Ravi Mehta of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Vikramaditya
Singh from the Indian National Congress (INC), Prem Thakur of the Aam Aadmi
Party (AAP) in a three-way contest for this year’s Himachal Pradesh Assembly

Political analysts believe that
the state’s first election since the Covid-19 pandemic will centre on
anti-incumbency, price increases, and unemployment. Since 1985, Himachal
Pradesh has been alternately governed by Congress and BJP governments.

Also Read | Himachal Pradesh polls: 90% Congress candidates crorepatis, BJP 82%

The BJP had won 44 of
Himachal’s 68 assembly constituencies last time and the Congress had won 21.
The CPM had won one seat. A party needs to win 35 seats for a majority to form
the government in the state.

In 2017, Vikramaditya Singh of
the Congress defeated Dr Pramod Sharma of the BJP by 4,880 votes. Kushal Raj of
the Swabhiman Party (SWAP) and M.D Sharma, an independent candidate, also
contested the elections in 2017. 

Shimla Rural is one of the 68
assembly constituencies in Himachal Pradesh. Shimla Rural falls under the
Shimla district and Shimla Lok Sabha Constituency. Shimla Rural has more than
76,000 eligible voters. 

In 2012, Virbhadra Singh of the
Congress defeated Ishwar Rohal of the BJP by 20,000 votes. Gaurav Sharma of the
Himachal Lokhit Party (HLP), Kushal Raj of the Himachal Swabhiman Party (HSP),
Ravi Kumar of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and an independent candidate, Prem
Chand Thakur, also contested the HP Assembly Elections in 2012. 

Also Read | In Himachal polls, Congress relies on tradition, BJP on individual talent

Himachal Pradesh votes in a
single round on November 12. Results will be announced on December 8. 

Quick facts about the Shimla  Rural Assembly seat  

Name of the assembly
constituency, district: Shimla Rural, Shimla district

Polling date: November 12, 2022

Sitting MLA, party: 
Vikramaditya Singh, INC

Key candidates, party in 2022:
Prem Thakur (AAP), Ravi Mehta (BJP), Vikramaditya Singh (INC)

Winning candidate, party in
2017:  Vikramaditya Singh, INC

Runner-up name, party 2017: Dr
Pramod Sharma, BJP

Winning margin in 2017: 4880

Top 3 candidates 2017:   Vikramaditya
Singh (INC), Dr Pramod Sharma (BJP), M.D Sharma (Independent)

Top 3 candidates 2012: 
Virbhadra Singh (INC), Ishwar Rohal (BJP), Prem Chand Thakur (Independent)

Lok Sabha constituency: Shimla