Kallakurichi, a state assembly in Viluppuram district,
is part of the Kallakurichi Lok Sabha constituency. Kallakurichi came into
existence in 2011 election following the reorganisation of constituencies in
2007. The seat is reserved for candidates from the Scheduled Castes. Prabhu A
of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam is the sitting MLA of Kallakurichi
and he defeated Kamaraj P of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam by 4,104 votes.

Also Read| Tamil Nadu polls: Tindivanam seat picked DMK’s candidate in 2016

Here are a few details about the Kallakurichi
assembly seat

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Kallakurichi,

Lok Sabha constituency: Kallakurichi

Polling date: NA

2016 candidates: Prabhu A (AIADMK), Kamaraj P (DMK), Ramamoorththy

2021 candidates: NA

Sitting MLA, party: Prabhu A, AIADMK

Winning margin in 2016: 4,104

Runner up name, party: Kamaraj P, DMK

Number of voters in 2016: 213,846

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 80.96%

Number of women voters in 2016: 109,931

Number of polling booths in 2016: 800