Royapuram Assembly constituency is located in the Chennai district of Tamil Nadu and is part of North Chennai Lok Sabha constituency and is an unreserved seat. D Jayakumar of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) is the sitting MLA of Egmore. He defeated R Manohar of Congress in 2016 by a margin of 8,031 votes. DMK’s Kalanidhi Veeraswamy is the North Chennai Lok Sabha MP.

Also read: Tamil Nadu polls: Thiru Vi Ka Nagar constituency picked a DMK candidate in 2016

Here are a few details about the Royapuram assembly seat:

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Royapuram, Chennai

Lok Sabha constituency: North Chennai

Polling date: April 6, 2021

2016 candidates: D Jayakumar (AIADMK), R Manohar (INC), M. R. Jemelaa (BJP)

2021 candidates: Ira Moorthi (DMK), D Jayakumar (AIADMK)

Sitting MLA, party: D Jayakumar AIADMK

Winning margin in 2016: 8,031

Runner up name, party: R Manohar (Congress)

Number of voters in 2016: 1,22,225

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 63.57%

Number of women voters in 2016: 60,194

Number of polling booths in 2016: 181