Yercaud state assembly constituency is located in Salem
district of Tamil Nadu. It is reserved for Scheduled Tribes candidates and
comprises Yercaud taluk, Vazhapadi taluk, and portions of the Salem and Attur
taluks. It is part of Kallakurichi Lok Sabha constituency. The constituency was
formed in 1957. Chitra G of AIADMK is the sitting MLA of Yercaud. She defeated Tamilselvan
C of DMK by 17,394 votes in 2016 assembly election.

Also read: Tamil Nadu polls: Royapuram constituency picked AIADMK’s candidate in 2016

Here are a few details about the Yercaud assembly

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Yercaud, Salem

Lok Sabha constituency: Kallakurichi

Polling date: NA

2016 candidates: Chitra G (AIADMK), Tamilselvan C (DMK),
Selvam R (PMK)

2021 candidates: NA

Sitting MLA, party: Chitra G, AIADMK

Winning margin in 2016: 17,394

Runner up name, party: Tamilselvan C, DMK

Number of voters in 2016: 222,735

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 85.62 %

Number of women voters in 2016: 110,910

Number of polling booths in 2016: 836