The Indian National Congress (INC) has released its third list of 89 candidates for the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections. Out of this, 37 seats go to the women candidates, as per the party’s commitment to have 40% seats for women workers. 

Similarly, their first list of 125 candidates had 50 women, and the second list of 41 candidates included 16. 

Thus far, the Congress party has announced 255 candidates for the upcoming elections, out of which 103 are women. Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, who’s spearheading as the state in-charge, is focusing on ‘mahila’ and ‘youth’ while choosing candidates. The party manifesto has also been drawn up as a woman-centric document. This includes 40% quota in governmental positions apart from free transportation on state-run buses. Congress is also concerned with security, the state of education, self-sufficiency, and health in the poll-bound state.

Also Read | Kanhaiya Kumar among Congress’ list of high-profile candidates for Uttar Pradesh elections

In this light, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra’s slogan ‘Ladki Hoon, Lad Sakti Hoon’, has been adopted by the party as a rallying cry for the state elections. 

Also Read | UP elections: India’s tallest man Dharmendra Pratap Singh joins Samajwadi Party

The party has also announced its list of star campaigners, as listed below. 

1. Sonia Gandhi

2. Manmohan Singh

3. Rahul Gandhi

4. Priyanka Gandhi Vadra

5. Ajay Kumar Lallu

6. Aradhana Misra ‘Mona’

7. Ghulam Nabi Azad

8. Ashok Gehlot

9. Bhupinder Singh Hooda

10. Bhupesh Baghel

11. Salman Khurshid

12. Raj Babbar

13. Pramod Tiwari

14. PL Punia

15. RPN Singh

16. Sachin Pilot

17. Pradeep Jain Aditya

18. Naseemuddin Siddiqui

19. Acharya Pramod Krishnam

20. Deeper Singh Hooda

21. Varsha Gaikwad

22. Hardik Patel

23. Phulo Devi Netam

24. Supriya Shrinate

25. Imran Pratapgarhi

26. Kanhaiya Kumar

27. Praniti Shinde

28. Dheeraj Gujjar

29. Rohit Chaudhary

30. Tauqeer Alam

Also Read | UP elections 2022: Mayawati releases second list of BSP candidates

The Uttar Pradesh state assembly elections will take place in seven phases. The 403 constituencies will see polling take place on February 10, 14, 20, 23, and 27, as well as on March 3, and 7. Votes will be counted, and results declared on March 10.