The Election Commission on Wednesday announced that polls for the new Vice President of India will be held on August 6, 2022.

The EC further said that the counting of votes will also be held on the same day. The EC also added that the last date for nominations for Vice Presidential Election 2022 is July 17.

Also read: How India elects its President

The term of office of Vice-President M. Venkaiah Naidu is ending on August 10, 2022.

“As per Article 68 of the Constitution of India, an election to fill the vacancy caused by the expiration of the term of office of the outgoing Vice-President is required to be completed before the expiration of the term,” the Election Commission said.

Also read: Presidential polls: With Yashwant Sinha in the race, who will be BJP, Opposition’s pick

The schedule for the vice presidential election was finalised at a meeting of Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar and Election Commissioner Anup Chandra Pandey.

The 16th presidential election is all set to be held on July 18 and the counting of votes will take place three days after the polling. Draupadi Murmu and Yashwant Sinha are contesting for the top post as candidates of the ruling NDA and the Opposition parties led by the UPA respectively.

Also read: President polls: With no candidates, BJP announces panel to run nationwide campaign

The President’s post is the top job in the Indian executive. Well becoming of the world’s largest democracy, any Indian citizen can be the President of India.

In order to become President, a person must be at least 35 years of age, and should have the requisite qualifications to become a member of the Lok Sabha.

Also read: President Kovind’s term ends on July 24, ECI announces poll dates. Check details

The President of India is elected by all elected lawmakers from the Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and the state legislative assemblies. There are currently 776 members of Parliament – 546 in Lok Sabha and 233 in Rajya Sabha – along with 4,809 members from state legislatures and the Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry. They together form the electoral college.