Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar on Thursday said that voting for the Presidential elections will be held on July 18, 2022 and the counting of votes will be held on July 21.

Addressing a press conference, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said, “A total of 4,809 electors are set to vote in the Presidential elections 2022. No political party can issue a whip to its members.”

Also read: Rising airfares in a post-COVID India: Why?

The President of India is elected by the members of the electoral college consisting of elected members of both houses of Parliament, and elected members of the legislative assemblies of all states including the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry.

All related Covid-19 safeguards and protocols will be enforced in all the steps of the electoral process.

Also read: Nupur Sharma row casts shadow over India-Iran talks

The Commission has also directed to ensure the use of eco-friendly and biodegradable materials and eliminate the use of prohibited plastic/materials, as a part of its endeavour to make elections eco-friendly.

The schedule for the election of the President of India are as follows:

Issue of Election Commission’s notification calling is election – 15-06-2022

Last date for making nominations – 29-06-2022

Date for the scrutiny of nominations – 30-06-2022

Last date for the withdrawal of candidatures – 02-07-2022

Date of which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken – 18-07-2022

Date of counting, if required, shall be taken – 21-07-2022