Indians were handed a shock when news broke out that the country’s first voter, Shyam Saran Negi, had died in his residence in Kinnaur, Himachal Pradesh, on Saturday, November 5. Negi was 106 years old when he died and was also India’s oldest voter till his death.

Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur condoled the death of Shyam Saran Negi on Twitter. “I am pained to learn about the passing away of India’s first voter Shyam Saran Negi. Adhering to his duty, he cast his vote for the 34th time on November 3 though postal ballot. This thought will always make me emotional,” the CM tweeted.

Also Read: Shyam Saran Negi, India’s first voter, dies in Himachal Pradesh

Who was Shyam Saran Negi?

Shyam Saran Negi was a retired school teacher in Himachal Pradesh and was also India’s first voter. He was born on July 1, 1917, in Kalpa, Kinnaur, Bushahr State during British rule and died on November 5, 2022, at his residence at the age of 106. He was also India’s oldest voter during his lifetime.

Negi cast the first vote of the 1951 general election, the first one in the history of Independent India. He cast his vote on October 25, 1951, and voted in all elections till his death. He also cast his vote in the Himachal Pradesh Assembly election two days before his death on November 3.

After the death of Shyam Saran Negi, it was announced that he will be cremated with full state honours. Negi was felicitated by Kinnaur Deputy Commissioner Abid Hussian Sadiq at his home after he cast his vote in the state Assembly election.

India’s first voter, Negi, was also the brand ambassador of the Election Commission of India. After his death, department officials from the Kinnaur district revealed that they will be attending his funeral.

Also Read: Ela Bhatt dead: When Hillary Clinton called the Padma Bhushan awardee one of her ‘personal heroes’

“ECI mourns the demise of Shri Shyam Saran Negi. We are eternally grateful for his service to the nation,” an Election Commission spokesperson said.

“He inspired millions to vote, even before his demise, he voted for Himachal Pradesh Assembly Elections 2022 through postal ballot on November 2, 2022,” a statement issued by the Election Commission of India on Twitter read.