The much-awaited second leg of the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will get underway on Sunday, when defending champions Mumbai Indians take on the high-flying Chennai Super Kings in a blockbuster encounter. The season was suspended mid-way after an outbreak of COVID-19 inside the bio-bubble, with the BCCI deciding to host the remainder of the tournament in the UAE.

The final will be held two days ahead of the scheduled beginning of the T20 World Cup. A number of players have withdrawn from IPL 2021 in preparation for the quadrennial event, injuries, or other commitments.

Here is a look at all the changes made by the eight franchises ahead of the resumption of the season:

Delhi Capitals:

The Delhi Capitals have continued their form from last season, sitting at the summit of the points table at this stage, although, they have played a game more than Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore. Among their major changes are the return of former skipper Shreyas Iyer and the withdrawal of English all-rounder Chris Woakes, who has been replaced with Australian Ben Dwarshuis.

Also Read | BCCI may approach Anil Kumble, VVS Laxman for Team India head coach role

Full squad: Rishabh Pant (c), Shreyas Iyer, Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada, Prithvi Shaw, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Lalit Yadav, Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Woakes, Anrich Nortje, Steve Smith, Umesh Yadav, Ripal Patel, Lukman Hussain Meriwala, M Siddharth, Tom Curran, Sam Billings, Pravin Dubey, Vishnu Vinod.

Chennai Super Kings:

Chennai Super Kings roared back to life this year following a disappointing IPL 2020, sitting second on the table with five wins from seven games. The Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led outift are among the sides to make no changes to their squad.

Full squad: MS Dhoni (c), Suresh Raina, Narayan Jagadeesabn, Ruturaj Gaikwad, KM Asif, Karn Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, Faf du Plessis, Shardul Thakur, Mitchell Santner, Dwayne Bravo, Lungi Ngidi, Sam Curran, Ravindra Jadeja, Imran Tahir, Robin Uthappa, Moeen Ali, K Gowtham, Cheteshwar Pujara, M.Harisankar Reddy, K.Bhagath Varma, C Hari Nishaanth, R Sai Kishore, Josh Hazlewood.

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Seeking its first-ever IPL trophy, Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore are off to a good start in the 2021 edition. They are third on the table, level on points with CSK with five wins from seven games and behind only on net run rate. RCB have made a number of changes to their squad for the remainder of the season, because of Washington Sundar being ruled out due to finger injury and the withdrawals of Australian’s Adam Zampa, Kane Richardson and Daniel Sams as well as New Zealand’s Finn Allen.

They have been replaced with Wanindu Hasaranga, Tim David, Dushmanta Chameera, George Garton, and Akash Deep.

Full squad: Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Yuzvendra Chahal, Devdutt Padikkal, Harshal Patel, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pavan Deshpande, Glenn Maxwell, Sachin Baby, Rajat Patidar, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Kyle Jamieson, Dan Christian, Suyesh Prabhudessai, KS Bharat, Tim David, Dushmantha Chameera, Wanindu Hasaranga.

Mumbai Indians:

Defending champions Mumbai Indians were off to a customary shaky start early in the season, but have still managed to stay in the top half of the table after four wins and three losses in seven games. They have made no changes to their squad.

Full squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Quinton de Kock, Rahul Chahar, Suryakumar Yadav, Chris Lynn, Mohsin Khan, Saurabh Tiwary, Trent Boult, Adam Milne, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Piyush Chawla, James Neeshan, Yudhvir Charak, Marco Jansen, Arjun Tendulkar.

Rajasthan Royals:

Sanju Samson’s Rajasthan Royals are fifth on the table with three wins from seven matches so far and qualifying for the playoffs this year will be a big ask, given the losses of star players like Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler and Jofra Archer. They have added the likes of Tabraiz Shamsi, Oshane Thomas, Evin Lewis and Glenn Phillips to their ranks.

Full squad: Sanju Samson (c), Ben Stokes, Riyan Parag, Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Tewatia, Mahipal Lomror, Kartik Tyagi, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anuj Rawat, David Miller, Manan Vohra, Shivam Dube, Chris Morris, Mustafizur Rahim, Chetan Sakariya, K.C. Cariappa, Liam Livingstone, Kuldip Yadav, Akash Singh, Glenn Phillips.