The Cincinnati Bengals, in an effort to honour former players and coaches or other individuals who have played a key role in the franchise's history, unveiled the Ring of Honor at the Paul Brown Stadium during their Thursday night game against the Jacksonville Jaguars. The inaugural class of Ken Anderson, Paul Brown, Anthony Muñoz and Ken Riley were inducted in a halftime ceremony featuring a video tribute. 

Also read: NFL: Jacksonville Jaguars WR DJ Chark carted off vs Cincinnati Bengals

The names were displayed on the East facade of the stadium. A custom Ring of Honor jacket was given to each inductee. 


“It’s an exciting day, at the same time, very humbling to be part of this Ring of Honor, the inaugural inductees,” Munoz said when he learned he would be inducted into the inaugural class, as per Day to Daily News reports.

  Also read: Super Bowl halftime: Best performances at the NFL event over the years

“It is exciting. … My heart is still grateful that there was a time in 1980 when a lot of clubs weren’t going to take a chance, to give me a chance to play in the NFL, that Paul Brown and the Brown family took a shot on me, even though I had a history of injuries. And so, I’ll always be thankful for that and the fact that this day’s taken place, and I get a chance to enter the Ring of Honor with Paul Brown," he added. 

Know the inductees:

Paul Brown founded the Cincinnati Bengals and served as the team’s first head coach and general manager. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1967.

Also read: Super Bowl 2022: Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Snoop Dogg to perform at halftime show

Anthony Munoz is considered as one of the greatest left tackles in the game. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1998. He was an 11-time Pro Bowler and received the NFL Man of the Year Award in 1991.

The two were selected for the Ring of Honor, as chosen by the Bengals front office. Riley and Anderson were chosen in a vote by season ticket holders among a ballot of 17 nominees. The other 15 will remain in consideration for future recognition.

Ken Anderson serves the Bengals for 16 seasons. The Pro Bowl quarterback played 192 games and lead the tam to its first Super Bowl while winning the NFL MVP and passing title in 1981.

Ken Riley died in June 2020. He played in a Bengals-record 207 games as the only defender in team history to play 15 seasons. Riley holds the team record for interception return yards (596) and interception returns for touchdowns (five).