Actors Samuel L Jackson and Danny Glover, Norwegian actress Liv Ullmann and actress-director Elaine May will receive honorary Oscars ahead of the main 2022 gala, for their contribution to filmmaking and the world, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Thursday.

Jackson, May, and Ullmann will be given honorary statuettes, while Glover will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award at the Academy’s Governors Awards on January 15, the Academy said in a statement.

Also Read | Oscars 2022 delayed by a month as LA extends COVID-19 restrictions

"We are thrilled to present this year's Governors Awards to four honorees who have had a profound impact on both film and society," said Academy President David Rubin.

Jackson portrayed the role of ‘Nick Fury’ in the Avengers and other Marvel movies and has appeared in more than 100 films, earning an  Oscar nomination for his indelible turn in Quentin Tarantino's "Pulp Fiction" (1994).  He essayed the role of Jedi Master Mace Windu in the “Star Wars” universe and an unforgettable line in "Snakes on a Plane."

Glover first earned widespread recognition on the big screen in Steven Spielberg's adaptation of "The Color Purple" (1985) before starring opposite Mel Gibson in the popular "Lethal Weapon" cop buddy movies.

Also Read | Was Natalie Portman's 'Thor Love and Thunder' look revealed via this merchandise?

He will receive the Jean Hersolt Humanitarian Award for his advocacy for justice and human rights. Currently, he serves as a goodwill ambassador for UNICEF.

Ullmann was introduced to international audiences in Ingmar Bergman's "Persona" and would go on to make many films with the Swedish director. She earned two Oscar nominations for best actress in the 1971 film “The Emigrants” and 1976 movie “Face to Face.” Rubin said her "bravery and emotional transparency has gifted audiences with deeply affecting screen portrayals."

Also Read | Tahar Rahim, Maggie Gyllenhaal in the jury for Cannes

May achieved great success through her comedy partnership with Mike Nichols before going on to earn Oscar nominations for best-adapted screenplays for 1978’s "Heaven Can Wait" and 1999’s "Primary Colors."

She also directed several films including "A New Leaf," "The Heartbreak Kid" and "Ishtar." Rubin said May's bold and uncompromising approach to filmmaking, as a writer, director, and actress reverberates as loudly as ever with movie lovers.