he Asia Cup 2022 will kick off in the United Arab Emirates on Saturday (UAE). The T20 World Cup, which begins in a few months, will serve as a warm-up for Asia’s top cricketing nations.

Everything you need to know about the Asia Cup and its history is listed below:

The Asia Cup’s history – winners and hosts

The Asia Cup, billed as one of the most important competitions in international cricket, dates back to 1984 when India won the inaugural edition in the UAE, headed by Sunil Gavaskar. The round-robin system was used for the series, which also included Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

The event has subsequently seen 14 editions, the most recent of which was held in the United Arab Emirates in 2018. In the final, India defeated Bangladesh by three wickets to successfully defend their championship.

With seven titles, India is the most successful team in the tournament’s history (1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018). Sri Lanka comes in second with five titles, followed by Pakistan, who has won it twice. Sri Lanka is also the only squad that has competed in all 14 tournaments.

Hosts: Bangladesh has hosted the Asia Cup the most times (five). The UAE will host the 2022 edition for the fourth time. Meanwhile, India has only hosted the tournament once, in 1990-91, when it won its third title in Kolkata after defeating Sri Lanka in the final.

Asia Cup 2022: The T20 format returns

T20 cricket will be used for the Asia Cup 2022. The competition will be played in the shortest format for the second time. It was last played in T20 format in Bangladesh in 2016, with India winning by eight wickets.

Why was the Asia Cup moved from Sri Lanka to the UAE?

Due to the island nation’s political and economic crises, the Asia Cup was moved out of Sri Lanka in late July. The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) board acknowledged logistical challenges in hosting several nations.

What is the Asia Cup 2022 format?

The Asia Cup 2022 will be played in a double round-robin style, with the final following.