The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the schedule for two limited-over home series against Australia and South Africa in September and October, ahead of the T20 World Cup. The schedule will see the Men in Blue play three T20Is against Australia, before facing South Africa in a T20I and ODI series.

India will begin its campaign against Australia on September 20, when they take over the Aussies in the first T20I in Mohali. The second T20I will be organised in Nagpur on September 23, before the penultimate T20I match in Hyderabad on September 25.

Also Read: 3rd T20I: Skipper Rohit Sharma credits Suryakumar Yadav, bowlers for win vs West Indies

The Indian team will be facing South Africa within a week of finishing its campaign against Australia. They will play three T20I and as many ODI matches against the Proteas in September and October.

India will begin its campaign against South Africa with a T20I series, the first match of which is slated to be played on September 28 in Thiruvananthapuram. The rest of the two T20I matches will be played on October 2 and 4 in Guwahati and Indore respectively.

The ODI series against South Africa will begin on October 6, two days after the conclusion of the T20I series. The first ODI match will be organised in Lucknow on October 6, before the second and third matches on October 9 and 11. The last two ODI matches will be played in Ranchi and New Delhi.

The T20I series against both countries will be of particular interest to the fans, as India is scheduled to play in the T20 World Cup in Australia from October. However, it is yet to be seen whether the BCCI names the first-tier squad for the ODI series against South Africa.

Also Read: 3rd T20I: Suryakumar Yadav guides India to 7-wicket win over West Indies

“The second T20I will be played on October 2, 2022, Gandhi Jayanti, to mark the birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi at Guwahati, followed by the last T20I at Indore,” a statement by the BCCI announced.

The Indian cricket team is currently facing West Indies in a T20I series. They will head to Zimbabwe to play three ODI matches, beginning on August 18. The Men in Blue will then participate in the Asia Cup T20, which will start on August 27 in the UAE.