The Chanpati Vidhan Sabha constituency is
held by the Bharatiya Janata
Party’s (BJP) Prakash Rai, who defeated Janata Dal (United)
candidate N.N. Sahi by a hairline margin of 464 votes to prevail in the 2015
assembly elections.

The seat has been occupied by BJP
candidates Krishna Kumar Mishra, Satish Chandra Dubey and Chandra Mohan Rai
since the 2000 assembly elections. The Communist Party of India (CPI) had won
three of the four elections held for the constituency between 1980 and 1995.

As per orders of Delimitation of
Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies Order, 2008, Chanpatia Vidhan Sabha
constituency is composed of the Chanpatia and parts of the Majhaulia community
development blocks.

It is part of the Paschim Champaran Lok
Sabha constituency. It was earlier part of the Bettiah Lok Sabha constituency.

Here are a few
details about the constituency seat:

Name of the assembly constituency,
Chanpatia, Paschim Champaran

Lok Sabha constituency: Paschim

Polling date: November 3

Top candidates in 2015: Prakash
Rai (BJP), N.N. Sahi (JD(U)), Om Prakash Kranti (CPI)

2020 candidates: Abhishek Ranajan (Congress), Umakant Singh (BJP)

Sitting MLA, party: Prakash
Rai (BJP)

Winning margin in 2015: 464 (0.3%
of total valid votes)

Runner up name, party: N. N.
Sahi (JD(U))

Number of voters in 2015: 1,57,113

Voter turnout in 2015: 63%

Number of women voters in 2015: 75,152

Number of polling stations in 2015: 230