Chelsea and Liverpool will look to lift the first domestic trophy on offer for the 2021-22 season when the two teams meet for the Carabao Cup final at the Wembley Stadium on Sunday. 

Thomas Tuchel and Jurgen Klopp have both won European and world titles with Chelsea and Liverpool respectively, but the two Germans have never won a domestic cup in England. 

Also Read | Leeds United ‘part company’ with manager Marcelo Bielsa

While Chelsea last won the competition in 2015, the Reds’ last domestic cup triumph came a decade ago, when they beat Cardiff City on penalties in the final. 

Manchester City have won the last four Carabao Cups, also known as EFL Cup or League Cup, in a row, with a new name set to be engraved on the trophy for the first time since 2017.

City, have won the competition a joint-record eight times – along with Liverpool, were knocked out in the fourth round this season by West Ham. 

Also Read | Russia-Ukraine conflict: Roman Abramovich gives up control of Chelsea over sanctions

Here’s all you need to know about the final:


Liverpool are expected to replace first-choice goalkeeper Alisson with Irishman Caoimhin Kelleher. The 23-year-old has played most of Liverpool’s games in the competition and kept a clean sheet in the semi-final against Arsenal. 

Liverpool (4-3-3): Caoimhin Kelleher, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Joel Matip, Virgil van Dijk, Andrew Robertson, Jordan Henderson, Fabinho, Thiago Alcantara, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, Luis Dias

Also Read | Premier League: Spurs run rampant at Elland Road as Leeds’ woes deepen

The big news from the Chelsea lineup is the benching of out-of-sorts striker Romelu Lukaku. The Belgian was also dropped from the starting lineup for the Champions League win against Lille in the midweek. Meanwhile, Edouard Mendy gets the nod over Kepa Arrizabalaga in goal. The Spaniard has played in every round so far for the Blues. 

Chelsea (3-4-2-1): Edouard Mendy, Trevor Chalobah, Thiago Silva, Antonio Rudiger, Cesar Azpilicueta, N’Golo Kante, Mateo Kovacic, Marcos Alonso, Mason Mount, Christian Pulisic, Kai Havertz

Also Read | Champions League final won’t be in Russia after Ukraine invasion

Kickoff time

The match begins at 10pm IST (4:30pm GMT). 


The Carabao Cup final, like the FA Cup final, is played at the Wembley Stadium in London.  

Also Read | Premier League: Christian Eriksen returns 8 months after cardiac arrest

Where to watch:

Viacom18 has the rights to broadcast Carabao Cup matches in India. The final can be viewed on MTV and will also be available to stream on the Voot app, as well as Jio TV.