India face England in the T20 World Cup 2022 semifinal at the Adelaide Oval on Thursday. Amid all the buzz of the high-octane knockout tie, fans have been asking who Rishi Sunak, hailed as UK’s first Indian-origin Prime Minister, is supporting. 

Also Read: Virat Kohli welcomes Chris Woakes with a beautiful six in T20 World Cup 2022 semifinal: Watch

Sunak took over from Liz Truss after she resigned from the post within six weeks. The 42-year-old is also the first Hindu to become UK’s Prime Minister. His grandparents originated from British India. Their birthplace Gujranwala lies in modern-day Pakistan’s Punjab province.

However, Rishi Sunak was born in Southampton and has never lived in India. 

Meanwhile, England won the toss and opted to bowl first against India in the Twenty20 World Cup semifinal on Thursday. 

England made two injury-enforced changes to its lineup. Paceman Mark Wood was replaced by Chris Jordan and Philip Salt came in for veteran batter Dawid Malan.

India went ahead with the same playing 11 that played against Zimbabwe in its last Super 12 game on Sunday. The team retained Rishabh Pant as keeper-batter ahead of Dinesh Karthik.

India finished at the number 1 spot in Group 2 with four wins from five games. The team first defeated Pakistan in the first match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on October 23.

Pakistan defeated 2021 finalist New Zealand by seven wickets in the first semifinal in Sydney on Wednesday to secure a spot in the Sunday’s final. 

England won the T20 World Cup tittle in 2010.


India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh.

England: Jos Buttler (captain), Alex Hales, Philip Salt, Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid.