Moeen Ali is back for the Chennai Super Kings. The Englishman, who was in quarantine, joined the team this week and is likely to play when the side takes on the Lucknow Super Giants at the Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai on Thursday. 

Ali was CSK’s second-highest run-scorer last season. He scored 357 runs in 15 matches at a strike rate of over 137. The 34-year-old also took six wickets. Against LSG, he is expected to play a key role for the four-time champions. 

Also read: KL Rahul opens up on ‘cute, very nice relationship’ with AB de Villiers

Both the team faced disappointing losses in their respective opening games. Their top-orders failed and CSK and LSG would want to improve on that. 

Chennai Super Kings were restricted to 131 runs in their first game against the Kolkata Knight Riders. However, former skipper MS Dhoni scored a much-awaited half-century. Bowling-wise Dwayne Bravo took three wickets.

Also read: RCB scrape first win of IPL 2022, defeat KKR by 3 wickets

For Lucknow Super Giants, skipper KL Rahul and star opener Quinton De Kock had a forgettable outing in their five wicket loss against the Gujarat Titans. The silver lining was Deepak Hooda, debutant Ayush Badoni and Krunal Pandya’s cameos with the bat. Pacer Dushmantha Chameera was right on the money, co-pacer Avesh Khan leaked 33 runs in 3.4 overs.

Also read: IPL 2022: David Willey takes a stunner to dismiss Kolkata Knight Riders’ Nitish Rana | Watch

Teams (From): Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja (Captain), Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar, Ambati Rayadu, Robin Uthappa, Mitchell Santner, Chris Jordan, Adam Milne, Devon Conway, Shivam Dube, Dwaine Pretorius, Maheesh Theekshana, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Tushar Deshpande, KM Asif, C Hari Nishaanth, N Jagadeesan, Subranshu Senapati, K Bhagath Verma, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh, Mukesh Choudhary.

Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (Captain), Manan Vohra, Evin Lewis, Manish Pandey, Quinton De Kock, Ravi Bishnoi, Dushmantha Chameera, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohsin Khan, Mayank Yadav, Ankit Rajpoot, Avesh Khan, Andrew Tye, Marcus Stoinis, Kyle Mayers, Karan Sharma, Krishnappa Gowtham, Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya. Jason Holder.

Match starts at 7.30 PM.