Umesh Yadav, who had missed Kolkata Knight Riders’ last two matches after sustaining a calf injury, returned for the two-time champions against the Sunrisers Hyderabad at the MCA Stadium, Pune on Saturday. 

KKR skipper Shreyas Iyer won the toss and elected to bat. 

Also read: IPL 2022: MS Dhoni’s gift makes MI youngster’s day | Watch

Announcing his decision, Iyer said that Pat Cummins, who has been ruled of the remainder of IPL 2022 with a hip injury, will be replaced by Umesh Yadav. Sheldon Jackson was also included in the playing 11. 

“We will bat first here. If you the record here, teams batting first have done well and batting first also suits us. Forced to make changes this time. Pat is injured, so Umesh comes in and Sheldon Jackson comes in too. We came to the core strength we started with and we got a good start,” Shreyas Iyer said after winning the toss. 

Also read: CBI books 7 persons for alleged match-fixing, betting in IPL 2019

Kane Williamson announced that they are bringing back Marco Jansen for Fazalhaq Farooqi. Washington Sundar and N Natarajan were also included for the game vs KKR. 

“We have played on this surface the other day and we were looking to bat as well. Natarajan and Washington are back. Jansen is back in for Farooqi as well.We haven’t been quite at our best in the last few games. So we want to turn that around,” Williamson said at the toss. 

The Sunrisers Hyderabad come to this match on the back of three consecutive losses. KKR on the other hand defeated the Mumbai Indians in the last game. 

Also read: IPL 2022: Punjab Kings’ heartwarming post for Virat Kohli wins the internet

Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Abhishek Sharma, Kane Williamson(c), Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran(w), Shashank Singh, Washington Sundar, Marco Jansen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Umran Malik

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Venkatesh Iyer, Ajinkya Rahane, Nitish Rana, Shreyas Iyer(c), Sam Billings(w), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Umesh Yadav, Tim Southee, Varun Chakaravarthy