After playing for the Singapore National Team, allrounder Tim David has been named in Australia’s Twenty20 World Cup squad.

“This is a similar squad to that which became the first Australian’s men’s team to win a T20 World Cup who are now very excited about playing the tournament at home,” chairman of selectors George Bailey said Thursday.

“Tim (David) continues to establish himself with some quality performances in leagues around the world, earning a place in the squad. He is a highly gifted, natural ball striker who will add extra batting depth to the group which has had a lot of success in T20 cricket.”

Also Read: Asia Cup 2022: Suryakumar Yadav explains 360° innings vs Hong Kong, role at No 4

David was bought by the Mumbai Indians for more than a million dollars in this year’s Indian Premier League auction. Following this, the 26-year-old decided to be part of Australia’s squad.

David played 14 T20 matches for Singapore in 2019 and 2020, averaging 46.5 with the bat.

“I would have him (Tim David) in the team. He has improved over the last couple of years, I think he’s the sort of player that could actually win the Australian team a World Cup in that finishing sort of role,” said former Australian captain Ricky Ponting in the latest episode of The ICC Review.

“Two years ago he was struggling to get a game in the BBL. He was a fringe player at the Perth Scorchers, then moved down to Hobart Hurricanes. He’s done really well down there,” he added.

Ponting went on to say that David is going through his career-best form right now.

“He’s done well in the IPL games he played last season, he’s done well in England – and every other tournament he’s played around the world. He’s probably in career-best form right now, and when you’ve got guys that are at the peak of their powers, I think you just have to play them,” he said.

The T20 World Cup final is scheduled for November13 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. 

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.