Sania Mirza is an Indian tennis superstar who has won over 6 major titles including 3 women’s doubles and three mixed doubles. She was all set to participate in the 2022 US Open

Earlier this year, she had expressed her plans of ‘early retirement’ post the 2022 US Open, which is scheduled to commence on 29th August. 

Unfortunately, with less than a week to go, Mirza announced that she will not be playing in US Open due to forearm and elbow injuries. She took to Instagram to share, “I have some not-so-great news, I hurt my forearm/elbow while playing in Canada two weeks ago and obviously didn’t realize how bad it was until I got my scans yesterday and unfortunately I have in fact torn a bit of my tendon.”

Who is Sania Mirza? 

Sania Mirza, 35, was born in Mumbai to a religious family of Hyderabadi Muslims. She took up tennis at the age of six and was mentored by her father and Roger Anderson. 

Mirza graduated from St. Mary’s College, Hyderabad and was awarded an honorary degree by the Dr. M.G.R Educational and Research Institute in Chennai. She is married to Pakistan’s cricket player Shoaib Malik.

Also Read: Sonali Phogat’s age, net worth, cause of death

Mirza began her sports career with a series of wins. She won 10 singles and 13 doubles titles as a junior player. The 35-year-old reached the pinnacle of her career in 2003 by claiming the title in the Wimbledon Championships Girls’ Double. 

In the 2022 French Open, Mirza defeated Sofia Kenin and Yulia Putintseva to reach the semifinals. 

A force to be reckoned with, Mirza won the Wimbledon 2015 title with Martina Hingis, making her the first Indian woman to bag a doubles Grand Slam. 

Also Read: Here’s how Novak Djokovic can make it to the US Open 2022

The six-time grand slam champion and former world number one in women’s doubles has won the Women’s Doubles titles at Wimbledon, the Australian Open, and the US Open. She was also placed second in the competition at the French Open. Additionally, Mirza has won the mixed doubles championships in the US Open, Australian Open, and French Open.