All about WhatsApp's 'View Once' photos and videos feature
- WhatsApp's new feature will make sure that a media is deleted immediately after
- This feature does not allow to forward, save, star, or share the media
- If you want to use this feature, you have to select the view once option every time
Instant messaging app WhatsApp, on Wednesday, rolled out a new feature called 'View Once'. Once a photo or a video will be opened by the recipient, WhatsApp's new feature will make sure that the media is deleted immediately after. The message will be shown as "opened" once the media has been consumed.
The recipient will also be able to see that the media content is a 'view once' photo or video. However, taking screenshots of the media content will be prohibited.
"Only send photos or videos with the view once media enabled to trusted individuals. For example, it's possible for someone to: Take a screenshot or screen recording of the media before it disappears. You won’t be notified if someone takes a screenshot or screen recording," WhatsApp said in a blog post on Wednesday.
All about the feature:
-If someone is using this feature, media will not be saved to the recipient’s device.
-Once you send a photo or video using that feature, you won't be able to view the media again.
-This feature does not allow to forward, save, star, or share the media.
-You can see if a recipient has opened the 'view once' photo if they have their read receipts turned on.
-Should you not open the photo or video within 14 days of it being sent, it will automatically expire from the chat.
-If you want to use this feature, you have to select the view once option every time.
-View once media can be restored from backup if it is unopened at the time of backup. However, if it has been opened, it will not be stored in the backup.
How to use 'View Once' on WhatsApp?
While sending a photo or video, press "1" to the left of the send button to make the media 'view once'. After the receiver opens it, it'll be deleted.
In a blog post, WhatsApp said this 'View ones' media feature can be used for sharing pictures like trying new clothes at a store, or sharing a WiFi password among other things.
"As with all the personal messages you send on WhatsApp, View Once media is protected by end-to-end encryption so WhatsApp cannot see them. They will also be clearly marked with a new “one-time" icon," the blog post said.