.Patna, Bihar, India
BJP, despite fielded candidates in lesser number of seats, managed to secure more seats in total in 2020 assembly elections. (Photo: PTI)

  • Modi served as Kumar's deputy for more than a decade
  • DD(U) spokesperson K C Tyagi stated on Sunday in a meeting that Kumar wanted BJP to have its own Chief Minister
  • JD(U) got only 43 seats in the Bihar elections

.New Delhi, Delhi, India
Nitish Kumar’s close confidante Ramchandra Prasad Singh has been appointed as the national president of the Janata Dal (United). (Photo Credit: Twitter/ ANI))

Sources said that Nitish Kumar had proposed Singh's name for the top post

Kumar was re-elected as the president of the regional party in 2019 for three years

Before taking a dive into politics, Singh was Uttar Pradesh cadre IAS officer.

.Patna, Bihar, India
Bihar Education Minister Mewa Lal Choudhary appointment to the post had triggered a controversy. (Photo Credit: Twitter/@ANI)

  • Chaudhary had been named an accused in a five-year-old case relating to alleged irregularities in appointment of teachers 
  • He was allocated the portfolio on Tuesday
  • Chaudhary sent his resignation immediately after assuming charge

.Patna, Bihar, India
JD(U) chief Nitish Kumar defied all political analysis to last another term as Bihar CM. (Photo Credit: PTI)

  • JD (U) chief Nitish Kumar clinches another term as BIhar CM
  • This is his fourth straight term in the post
  • He will be helming the government with two deputy CMs

.Patna, Bihar, India
JD(U) chief Nitish Kumar took oath as Bihar's CM on Monday. (Photo Credit: PTI)

  • Nitish Kumar became Bihar's CM, even though his party finished a poor third in the assembly polls
  • An engineer by training, Kumar took an active part in the JP movement in the 1970s
  • Unlike Lalu Prasad and Ram Vilas Paswan, electoral success eluded Kumar for long

.Patna, Bihar, India
Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar's Chief Minister. (Photo Credit: Twitter/ANI)

  • Nitish Kumar took the oath as Bihar's CM for seventh time
  • BJP leader Tarkishore Prasad was sworn-in as Bihar's deputy CM
  • BJP's Renu Devi also took oath as Bihar's deputy CM

.Patna, Bihar, India
Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar's Chief Minister for seventh time in two decades. (Photo Credit: Twitter/ANI)

  • Nitish Kumar of JD (U) was sworn  in as Bihar's CM for the fourth time straight
  • He came to power again for the seventh time overall in Bihar, winning the election as part of the NDA
  • The government will have two deputy CMs instead of one in the previous tenure

.Patna, Bihar, India
Renu Devi, a five-time MLA from Bettiah, took oath as one of the two deputy CMs of Bihar on Monday. (Photo credit: Twitter/ BJP4Bihar)

  • Renu Devi took over as one of the two deputy CMs of Bihar assembly
  • She has also been chosen as deputy leader of BJP legislature party in the assembly
  • Renu Devi won her first assembly election in 2000 and has lost the seat once only in 2015

.Patna, Bihar, India
Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar receives greetings from his supporters at the party office, in Patna, November 12. (PTI Photo)

  • Nitish Kumar was unanimously elected as the next chief minister of Bihar
  • He will meet Governor Phagu Chauhan to stake claim to form the new government
  • He will likely take oath as chief minister on Monday

.Patna, Bihar, India
JD(U) President and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar arrives at party office, in Patna, Thursday, Nov. 12, 2020. (PTI Photo)

  • The newly-elected Bihar MLAs will meet on Sunday at 12.30 pm to choose Nitish Kumar as their leader
  • "All decisions will be taken in that meeting," Kumar said on Friday
  • Other crucial decisions regarding the alliance are also likely to be taken in the Sunday meeting