.Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India
The list of reserved seats for the Uttar Pradesh gram panchayat elections will be released on Tuesday. (Photo Credit: Representational/ Unsplash)

  • UP CM Yogi Adityanath had announced that a rotational system will be followed in the elections
  • The panchayat elections in Uttar Pradesh were earlier held in 1995, 2000, 2005, 2010, and 2015
  • At present, the state has 826 vikas khands (development blocks), and 58,194 gram sabhas.

.New Delhi, Delhi, India
Constituencies are reserved in both Parliamentary and State Assembly elections. (Photo Credit: PTI)

  • Reservation is a system that provides equal opportunities for the backward classes of the society
  • The backward sections are mainly Schedules Castes, Scheduled Tribes and other Backward Classes
  • It is done to provide them with equal opportunities for their social upliftment

.Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
The BJP emerged victorious in the recently-held municipal corporation elections. (Photo Credit: Representational Image/ PTI)

  • Votes are being counted for 81 municipalities, 31 district panchayats and 231 taluka panchayats 
  • The elections were held on a total of 8,235 seats
  • The BJP has put up 8,161 candidates, Congress 7,778 and AAP 2,090 among others

.Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India
The final list of reserved seats will be out on March 10. (Photo credit: Representative image/Unsplash)

  • Using the list, the candidates participating in the polls would get to know where they can contest from
  • Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath had earlier announced a rotational reservation system to be followed in the elections
  • The tenure of the incumbent village panchayat ended on December 25, 2020

.Kochi, Kerala, India
The third phase of the local body polls in Kerala will be held on December 14, with the counting of votes scheduled for December 16. (Photo Credit: Twitter/@ANI)

  • A robot was installed at a polling booth in Kochi which checked the body temperature
  • The second phase of the polls recorded a voter turnout of 76.38%
  • The highest turnout was recorded in the Wayanad district with 79.39%