The US House
of Representatives
Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy has named five Republicans to
join the select committee that is investigating the January 6 Capitol riots.

McCarthy’s slate includes Republican Representatives Jim Banks from Indiana, Jim
Jordan from Ohio, Rodney Davis from Illinois, Kelly Armstrong from North Dakota, and Troy Nehls from Texas, CNN reported. Jim Banks will head the Republican
Representatives on the committee.

Representative Bennie Thompson of Mississippi will head the committee.

Jordan and Nehls had voted to overturn the 2020 presidential election results
from the states of Arizona and Pennsylvania along with 139 others. Davis and
Armstrong were among those who voted to certify Joe Biden’s election as
President. Banks and Jordan had signed onto the Texas lawsuit that sought to
invalidate the ballots of millions of voters. The lawsuit was eventually
blocked by the Supreme Court.

to the House resolution regarding the committee, Speaker Nancy Pelosi has the
authority to appoint eight members and McCarthy was given five members who will
be appointed in consultation with the speaker.

to CNN, the speaker is reviewing the names given by McCarthy and she has the
power to veto any or all names given to her.

There are
now a total of six Republicans on the panel as Pelosi has already appointed
Republican Representative Liz Cheney of Wyoming among her eight choices.

The committee will sit for its first hearing next week to hear from Capitol Police
officers Harry Dunn and Aquilino Gonell as well as Metropolitan Police
Department officers Michael Fanone and Daniel Hodges about their experiences on
January 6, CNN report said.