CPM won the Hemtabad seat in 2016 Legislative Assembly elections with a big margin. Debendra Nath Roy defeated AITC candidate Sabita Ksehtry. It falls under the Raiganj Lok Sabha Constituency. Debasree Choudhuri is the current Lok Sabha MP of Raiganj.

Here are a few details about Hemtabad constituency: 

Also Read: Nakashipara constituency picked Trinamool Congress candidate in 2016

Name of assembly constituency & district: Hemtabad, Uttar Dinajpur

Lok Sabha Constituency: Raiganj

2016 candidates: Debendra Nath Roy(CPM), Sabita Khetry(AITIC),Bhanu Ram Barman(BJP), 2020 Candidates: N/A

Sitting MLA, party: Debendra Nath Roy, CPM

Winning margin in 2016: 13,136

Runner up name, party: Sabita Ksetry, AITC

Number of votes in 2016: 232,634

Also Read: TMC's appeasement, vote bank politics endangered national security: Yogi Adityanath

Number of women voters: 110,002

Number of polling booths: 220