Patharpratima is a community development block located in South 24 Parganas district of West Bengal and falls under the administrative division in Kakdwip subdivision. Samir Kumar Jana of TMC is the sitting MLA from Patharpratima. 

This community development block is bounded by Mathurapur I and Mathurapur II CD blocks in the north, Bay of Bengal in the south, Sundarbans forests in the east, Namkhana, Kakdwip and Kulpi CD blocks in the west.

Here are a few details about the Patharpratima assembly seat -

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Patharpratima CD, South 24 Parganas

Lok Sabha constituency:  Mathurapur

2016 candidates: Phanibhushan Giri (INC), Samir Kumar Jana (TMC), Sridhar Chandra Bagari (BJP), Pabitra Maity (SUCI (C))

2020 candidates: NA

Sitting MLA, party: Samir Kumar Jana (TMC)

Winning margin in 2016: 13793

Runner up name, party: Phanibhushan Giri (INC)

Number of voters in 2016: 212687                            

Percentage of votes polled in 2016: 89.80%

Number of women voters in 2016: 103124

Number of polling booths in 2016: 842