The parliament of India consists of the president, the council of states and the house of people. In 1954 the council of states got its Hindi name ‘Rajya Sabha' and the house of people got its Hindi name ‘Lok Sabha’. The Lok Sabha that is the house of people and has the representatives elected by the common citizen. 

The houses of parliament have their own pressing officers. The Lok Sabha has a speaker and a deputy speaker and a panel of chairpersons. Soon after the first sitting, the speaker of Lok Sabha is elected by the members and the date for the election of the speaker is decided by the President. The current speaker of Lok Sabha is Om Birla and the ex deputy speaker is Thambi Durai.

Also Read: President Kovind, PM Modi greet people on Basant Panchami, Saraswati Puja

The speaker of the house is the head of Lok Sabha and its representative as well. He is the spokesperson of the house and all his decisions regarding the parliamentary matters are final and binding. He is bestowed with much more powers and is not just a presiding officer. 

Following duties are performed by the speaker of the Lok Sabha:-
- He maintains order and decorum in the house,

-He is the final interpreter of the provisions of Constitution of India, the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business of Lok Sabha and the parliamentary precedents within the house.

During the process of removal of the speaker from the house he cannot preside at the sitting but has power to take part in the proceedings of the house during voting although not during the case when there’s equality of votes. 

#Parliament #LokSabha #IndianConstitution