The Chakia assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh was won by the
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the 2017 assembly elections. BJP leader Sharada
Prasad defeated Bahujan Samaj Party (SP) candidate Jitendra Kumar, by a margin
of 20,063 votes.

The BJP ousted the SP government in 2017 following a landslide victory
in the assembly elections that saw the party win 312 seats in the 403-member
House. Yogi Adityanath was named chief minister of Uttar Pradesh a day after the
electoral victory on March 15.

Also Read | UP polls: SP President Akhilesh Yadav accuses BJP of ‘stealing votes’

The Samajwadi Party (SP) came second behind the BJP, winning just 47
assembly seats, Mayawati-led BSP was third with 19 seats and the Congress (INC)
won mere seven seats.

As per the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies
Order, 2008, Chakia is the constituency number 383 of the Uttar Pradesh
Legislative Assembly.

Also Read | In 2022 UP campaign, Priyanka Gandhi outscores Yogi Adityanath in rallies

It is one of five assembly constituencies in the Robertsganj Lok Sabha
constituency. Pakaudi Lal Kol of the Apna Dal (Sonelal) is the current Member
of Parliament (MP) from the Lok Sabha constituency.

Quick facts about the Chakia assembly seat:

Name of the assembly constituency, district: Chakia, Chandauli

Name of the winner, party: Sharada Prasad, BJP

Lok Sabha constituency: Robertsganj

Also Read | Who is Akhilesh Yadav?

Date of polling: March 7, 2022

Date of counting of votes: March 10, 2022

Top 3 candidates 2017: Sharada Prasad (BJP), Jitendra Kumar (BSP), Poonam

Top 3 candidates 2021: Kailash Kharvar (BJP), Jitendra Kumar (SP), Ramasumar
Ram (INC)

Winning margin in 2017: 20,063

Runner up name, party: Jitendra Kumar (BSP)

Number of voters in 2017: 2,34,616

Percentage of votes polled in 2017: 64.24%