United States President Joe Biden, at his first State of the Union address on Tuesday, announced that Russian flights would not be permitted to enter American airspace. The move would “further isolate” Russia as it invades Ukraine, Biden said.

“Tonight I am announcing that we will join our allies in closing off American air space to all Russian flights, further isolating Russia and adding additional squeeze on their economy” Biden said on Tuesday from the legislative chambers of the United States Capitol

WIth the new announcement, United States joins the European Union and Canada in banning Russian flights from its airspace in the last week. Before European Union announced a unanimous ban, countries like Italy, Germany and France had already announced the measure.

While extending his support to the Ukrainian government and warning Russian leader Vladimir Putin at the same time, Biden said, “The US and our allies will defend every inch of NATO territory with full force of our collective power. Ukrainians are fighting back with pure courage. Putin may gain makes gains on the battlefield but he’ll have to continue to pay a high price over the long run.”

Vice President Kamala Harris and Speaker of House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi were seen standing behind the podium, applauding the new announcement. The chambers of the Capitol also echoed with hooting from the lawmakers.

A flurry of lawmakers were seen wearing blue and yellow ribbons pinned to their chests in an attempt to show solidarity with Ukraine. Others held Ukrainian flags too.